Turtle Thoughts

Turtle Thoughts Close View of TurtleWho doesn’t choose to use a stamp just because it’s cute?!

Inky Antics’s Honeypop Turtle stamp set caught my eye the other day and I thought it would be perfect for practicing some Copic coloring. After stamping the turtle pieces onto a piece of white cardstock, it was time for some coloring using different shades of green and brown Copic markers. Once the turtle was all colored in, I fussy cut him out and set him aside until it was time to attach him to the card.

My idea for this card was to layer the turtle over something, so using the Scalloped Circles Stackables from Lawn Fawn I die cut some blue cardstock. Thinking it might look better to layer two different circles, I also die cut a brown, wood patterned paper, this time using the Celebrations Pierced Circles from Spellbinders.

I like adding a sentiment to my cards so for this one I chose the “Thinking of You” stamp from Simon Says Stamp’s Sending Happy Thoughts stamp set. After stamping it onto a piece of white cardstock with Versamark, I heat embossed it with blue embossing powder. Once everything was set, the sentiment was fussy cut out and set aside.

Turtle Thoughts Full Card ViewI chose a green cardstock to match the green in the turtle to use as the card base. I then added a piece of cardstock on top featuring a star design made by my sister (visit her blog at Nina-Marie Design) which I die cut using the Stitched Lines die set from Simon Says Stamp.

Once I had all of the main pieces ready, it was time to assemble everything. First I attached the brown circle on top of the blue scalloped circle. This was attached to the top third of the card and followed by attaching the sentiment, which I put just barely overlapping into the two circles. The final step was to put the turtle onto the center of the circles using foam tape in order to pop him off the background.

Thanks for visiting…enjoy your day!

Products

 

2 comments

Leave a Reply

